Reference : The Egyptian Judiciary in The age of The republic The Role of Internal Conflicts in C...
Scientific journals : Article
Law, criminology & political science : Judicial law
Law, criminology & political science : Metalaw, Roman law, history of law & comparative law
Law / European Law
The Egyptian Judiciary in The age of The republic The Role of Internal Conflicts in ConTrolling The Judicial system
Al Hajjaji, Shams Al Din mailto [University of Luxembourg > Faculty of Law, Economics and Finance (FDEF) > Law Research Unit >]
Indonesian Journal of International and Comparative Law
The Institute for Migrant Rights Press
[en] Judicial Reform ; Constitutional Law ; Egypt
[en] The Egyptian judiciary has struggled against the executive authority for the past decades. This struggle has seen many losses and gains. It has paved the road for the judiciary to play a role in the constitutional process in the last five years. Many scholars present this judicial struggle as a conflict between the executive and the judiciary. However, the history of the internal conflicts among judges remains a mystery or is merely implied. Such conflicts have taken on various forms based on the political regime in power. As a result, this research argues that the struggle was not only between political regimes and the judiciary, but also expressed itself in an internal conflict among the members of the judiciary. This research is limited to the Republic period, lasting from 1952 to 2014. This period can be divided into seven different eras. This research, however, separates the history of the Republic into just six main eras, due to excluding the al-Sisi era (2014-18), given that he was still in power during the writing of this research. It is historically unfair to document incomplete periods, despite this constituting one of the worst periods in judicial history. Accordingly, this paper limits itself to presenting the internal conflicts witnessed during only six eras. These eras involve the transition period after the monarchy, also known as the Mohamed Naguib era (1952-54), the Nasser era (1954-70), the al-Sadat era (1970-80), the Mubarak era (1980-2011), the SCAF era (2011-12), the Mohamed Morsi era (2012-13), and the transition period following the military coup, also known as the Mansur era (2013-14).
Researchers ; Professionals ; General public

File(s) associated to this reference

Fulltext file(s):

Limited access
Shams Pre-Proof (1) (1).pdfAuthor preprint247.88 kBRequest a copy

Bookmark and Share SFX Query

All documents in ORBilu are protected by a user license.