The University of Luxembourg announces its Open Access deposit mandate

Today, the University of Luxembourg has joined the growing number of Universities and funding institutions around the world in launching a mandate for deposit in their new Open Access digital repository, ORBilu.

Who else is doing this? In addition to our partner, the University of Liège, Harvard, MIT, the Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Science, Ghent University, University of Minho, and Queensland University of Technology to name just a few. The European Commission has clearly stated its intent to mandate Open Access of publications for the research it funds in its Horizon 2020 programme. As well, earlier this year, the Obama Administration announced that Federal agencies spending more than $100M in Research & Development must make the results of the research they fund freely available within 12 months of publication.

Although the list (see roarmap.eprints.org) is long and varied, there are still many more institutions around the world to join in the movement and many discussions to that end are on-going. For example, Germany is currently studying a revision to its copyright law that will allow authors to make their scientific publications legally available via Open Access after a 12 month embargo period regardless of their publisher agreements.

Concretely, the University of Luxembourg requires all University members to deposit:

  1. full-text electronic copies of all peer-reviewed articles and papers from published conference proceedings published from 1 January 2009 onwards; and
  2. bibliographic references of all their scientific production published since 1 January 2009.

For the full mandate text, click here. We’ve also put together a FAQ to help answer your questions.

And please, feel free to contact us on orbilu@uni.lu if you have any questions.

ORBilu: Be seen. Be read. Be cited.